Menu
MY ITINERARY (0)
August 9

Arts & Culture

BRAD KAHLHAMER: A NATION OF ONE

Next Upcoming Date: Friday, August 9 2019

Minnesota Museum of American Art is proud to present A Nation of One, a survey exhibition of work by New York-based multimedia artist Brad Kahlhamer.  (Opening Day)
Exhibit runs June 20 - August 25

Location: Minnesota Museum of American Art

Time: 11:00 AM to 8:00 PM

350 Robert Street North , Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101
His large-scale paintings, drawings, and works on paper map the sprawling complexities and contradictions of American culture and identity. Notable influences include Abstract Expressionism, graphic styles from Gary Painter, Art Spiegelman, Henry Darger, and the artist’s ongoing study of Plains Indians’ graphic arts. His work is also informed by his personal Native American, but “tribally ambiguous” heritage. A Nation of One charts Kahlhamer’s evolution of styles across American and Native identities, speaking to his adopted and inherited genealogy of symbols and characters, reiterating his persistent questions about hybridity, cultural appropriation, and representation.

Contact: info@mmaa.org

651.797.2571

Admission: Free

Visit our website Add To Itinerary

Brad Kahlhamer: A Nation Of One
Upcoming Dates
  • Friday, August 9
  • Saturday, August 10
  • Sunday, August 11
  • Monday, August 12
  • Tuesday, August 13
  • Wednesday, August 14
  • Thursday, August 15
  • Friday, August 16
  • Saturday, August 17
  • Sunday, August 18