Menu
MY ITINERARY (0)
August 17

Arts & Culture

We the People - Exhibition

Next Upcoming Date: Thursday, August 17 2017

For We the People, Minnesota Museum of American Art (the M) has invited four guest curators to select work by prominent local and national artists that sheds light on the complexities of contemporary American experience. This exhibition continues the M’s engagement with critical issues about American art which began two years ago with the show American Art: It’s Complicated.

Location: Minnesota Museum of American Art

Time: 11:00 AM to 6:00 PM

141 East 4th Street , St. Paul, Minnesota 55101
“We the people,” the opening words of the U.S. Constitution, serves as a national slogan and a rallying cry. But who constitutes the “we” in that formative phrase?  More to the point, which people and whose stories aren’t represented in the language of national unity?  In response to those questions, independent curator and artist Christopher Harrison, the M’s Diversity in the Arts Fellow Johnnay Leenay, Mary Anne Quiroz (Indigenous Roots Cultural Center), and Maggie Thompson (Two Rivers Art Gallery) present artworks with disparate cultural points of view.  Artists include Star Wallowing Bull, Zackary Drucker, Rico Gatson, Susan Hauptman, Nooshin Hakim Javadi, Steve Ozone, and others.

16517972571

Admission: Free

Visit our website Add To Itinerary

We The People - Exhibition
Upcoming Dates
  • Thursday, August 17
  • Friday, August 18
  • Thursday, August 24
  • Friday, August 25
  • Thursday, August 31
  • Friday, September 1
  • Thursday, September 7
  • Friday, September 8
  • Thursday, September 14
  • Friday, September 15